Family or Job?

I have been here more than a week already, and sometimes it feels like no time at all and others it feels like so much more. I came with no expectations, remembering how the transition last year took some time. And I am struck again how my time at the albergue parallels my time on the Camino.

The people I meet fall into two general groups. Those who in very short order feel like family and those who I am happy to be with and talk to but feel no sense of loss when we part ways. And so it is here. Previous years it has felt very much like home and there is an easy way of being. I was skyping with some loved ones last night, trying to describe what I felt, and as they know my heart so well they were able to articulate my sentiments. “It’s the difference between a job and a family.” Yes. 

Three days later. Pilgrims began arriving at 11:00 and by 1:30 we were almost full. I was by myself and it was a crazy afternoon of massages and getting coffee and checking people in and finding out what happens when the wrong soap is put in the dishwasher. Foam. Lots of foam. More on this in another post. And I finally started to feel at home, like part of the albergue was mine. I had been trying too hard to fit in, and not just letting myself be who I am. When I start to walk, I don’t need to follow an itinerary. I know where I’m starting, and I know where I’m finishing. I will meet people who already feel like friends and those who don’t. And I am always me. 

“I know now where I’m going cause I’ve found just where I’m from.

Getting easier with every task,

Its not the first time and it wont be the last.””

– Current Swell “Young and Able”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Family or Job?

  1. Sue Mc says:

    Hi Donna, Thanks for posting. I was wondering how you were getting along. Funny how we human beings learn things over and over again, each time in a slightly different way. We miss you here, and can’t wait to see more of your adventures on the blog. Thank you for generously sharing yourself and your experience. Sue Mc

Leave a Reply

