My Favourite Day

“- What day is it?
– It’s today, – squeaked Piglet.
– My favorite day, – said Pooh.”

― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

I’m enjoying the simple luxury of lying in bed in my hostel, a five minute walk from the pebbly beach in Brighton, England. Trip number four to Spain is underway. Following more than an hour delay in the flight taking off, nine hours in the air, almost an hour in the bus, compounded with an eight hour time difference, I collapsed into bed and slept away the jetlag.

I have no expectations for this year’s trip. Each day already feels like that moment when you get to the top of the first incline on a roller coaster. Your stomach tightens with the anticipation of the drop and the acceleration into that first curve. And it never gets old. I can see the sun shining outside my window, the gulls are talking, but my room is empty and quiet. So many possibilities for the day. And for each day after.

I love the moment after meeting someone when I realize there is a touching at some level between us. That this is someone I can feel at ease with, and connected to always. I was reminded of this yesterday on the long flight, in a roundabout manner. I ended up seated between two Spanish friends. We chatted about this and that, they knew of the Camino, and we talked about how people connect. About how this happens easily for some and not so much for others. But as the flight wore on, and we all tried to catch a bit of sleep, I noticed that we all tried to maintain our very small personal spaces within the boundaries of our seats. It would have been much easier and more comfortable to overlap, to be ok with a touch here and there, to let heads rest on shoulders or outstretched legs on outstretched legs. But we refrained. And I thought, hmmmm, we do that also with our selves. Keep our selves from touching other selves for fear of what? Not being welcomed? Inserting something of who we are into someone else? Being politely turned away?

I don’t want to go through life like that. Basing my action on what I believe someone else’s action will be. I am reminded of a piece from a book I have read several times, called “Illusions:Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah”

“Like attracts like. Just be who you are, calm and clear and bright. Automatically, as we shine who we are, asking ourselves every minute is this what I really want to do, doing it only when we answer yes, automatically that turns away those who have nothing to learn from who we are,and attracts those who do, and from whom we have to learn, as well.”
― Richard Bach, Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah

I am blessed to have people in my life like this. I carry them with me always. I love them, I miss them, I feel them in my heart. Some were met over the years and some more recently. And more will be met, or not. But that roller coaster is available every day, and I can feel the moment approaching of hopping in the first car and heading for the incline. Woohoo, what a ride!

image

image

image

image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Favourite Day

  1. Lynn R. says:

    I am very excited for you Donna as you are a true Pilgrim. May this adventure be filled with new memories and interesting souls. I look forward to following your posts.
    Buena suerte Amiga

Leave a Reply

